Baby, What Is Your Love Language?

Baby, What Is Your Love Language?

Akin and Jane are beautifully married. They were both full of love for each other when they got married, but over the years, they started drifting apart.
Akin thinks Jane doesn’t love Him. Jane feels Akin does not love her.

Could it be that the same way the men during the days of the tower of Babel could not understand each other, they also don’t understand each other?

Loving your spouse in marriage is not just about showing love, it is first of all about finding out “the language” your spouse understands as love!
This has to be done deliberately, there is no room for assumptions or second guessing. These love languages are expressions of love to your spouse in way he/she will best understand.

Let’s take a quick recap of the five love languages

1.  Words of Affirmation

This include deliberate use of words in such a way that they will build up your spouse. Good comments about the food, dressing and so on. For some couples, this will be their love language and until you do it, they will not understand your love for them. If this is your spouses’ love language, you have to learn to be more expressive.

2.  Quality Time

Some individuals believe that being together, doing things together and focusing on each other are the only ways they will understand love. If this is your partner’s love language, then you will need to offer undivided attention and shut off things like television, games and other things that keep you apart. Such people whose love language is quality time, especially wives, should really not be neglected.

This is because if they are left to spend more time with colleagues or any other person, emotional love may develop which could be taken to a physical level if care is not taken. Husbands, if this is your wife’s love language, make sure you create time out of no time to meet this important need.

3. Gifts

Some spouses will only understand your love for them when you give them gifts. If this is your spouse’s love language, you had better pray that God blesses you! However, gifts do not need to be expensive, but they must be consistent. If this is your spouses’ love language, don’t argue it, just go ahead and perform!
Sometimes, a gift as little as a chocolate bar will do the magic

4. Acts of Service

Discovering how you can best do something for your spouse will require time and creativity. These acts of service like helping with the dishes, preparing the children for school and helping out with household chores has to be done in love in order to be seen as love language.

5. Physical Touch

Touch, stroking and the lot will be appreciated by a spouse whose love language is physical touch. Somebody once said a woman not touched consistently could have her lifespan reduced!

I understand my spouse. I am not blind to my spouse’s need. I receive grace to honor God first, and then honor my spouse. We love each other. We work together.

Lord, teach me by your Spirit to love my husband/wife in Jesus name!

Let thy fountain be blessed. and rejoice with the wife of thy youth. (Pro 5:18 KJV)

Find out your spouse’s love language and start acting it out.

Proverbs 4-7

Leave a Reply